DJ İpek

DJ Ipek a.k.a. İpek İpekçioğlu is an internationally successful and multi-award winning, and Berlin-based DJ, producer, curator and queer activist.

Known for her Anatolian remixes, edits and electro -acoustic to TechnoTurka productions, Ipek will be spinning a unique and hybrid sound mix for our festival: Psychedelic Turkish Funk meets Disco, Ciftetelli meets House, Kurdish Halay meets Elektro, traditional 9/8 beat meets Turkish Tango, Anatolian folk songs meets Techno.

Euphoric encounters and border crossings on the dance floor are guaranteed. In doing so, ipek enjoys playing with musical clichés and at the same time delights with unknown insiders. For over 24 years ipek has been resident DJ at "Gayhane -QueerOriental Dancefloor" in Berlin SO36.

With a strong socio-critical focus, Ipek, besides DJing and producing, deals with diverse topics such as women, gender, migration, racism and multiple discrimination, which she incorporates into her music. In all her work, the Turkish-born artist focuses on cultural and gender diversity and the opening of borders within different communities and the (electronic) music and club scene. Thus she founded several clubs.

Thanks to this special mix and her activism, Ipek was honored by the Berlin city magazine Zitty as "one of the most important cultural personalities in the capital.

DJ İpek

DJ Ipek a.k.a. İpek İpekçioğlu ist eine international erfolgreiche und mehrfach ausgezeichnete, und in Berlin lebende DJ, Produzentin, Kuratorin und Queer-Aktivistin.

Bekannt mit ihren Anatolischen Remixes, Edits und elektro -akustischen bis hin zu TechnoTurka Produktionen wird Ipek für uns einen einzigartigen und hybriden Soundmix auflegen: Psychedelic Turkish Funk trifft auf Disko, Ciftetelli auf House, kurdischer Halay auf Elektro, traditionelle 9/8 Beat auf türkischen Tango, Anatolische Volkslieder auf Techno.

Euphorische Begegnungen und Grenzüberschreitungen auf der Tanzfläche sind garantiert. Dabei genießt Ipek das Spiel mit musikalischen Klischees und begeistert zugleich mit unbekannten Insidern. Seit über 24 Jahren ist ipek Resident DJ bei Gayhane -QueerOriental Dancefloor“ in Berlin SO36.

Mit einem starken sozial-kritischen Fokus beschäftigt sich Ipek, neben dem Auflegen und Produzieren, mit diversen Themen wie Frauen, Gender, Migration, Rassismus und Mehrfachdiskriminierung, welche sie in ihre Musik einfließen lässt. In all ihren Arbeiten setzt die Türkeistämmige auf Kultur- und Genderdiversity und das Öffnen von Grenzen innerhalb verschiedene Communities und der (elektronischen) Musik- und Clubzene. So gründete sie mehrere Vereine.

Diesem besonderen Mix und ihrem Aktivismus verdankt Ipek auch die Ehrung des Berliner Stadtmagazin Zitty als eine „der wichtigsten kulturellen Persönlichkeiten der Hauptstadt“.